ICONICO

Discussion Thread

ColorPic

Message Thread

For WindowsColorPic

ColorPic iconOur Windows Color Picker tool has an inbuilt magnifier and allows you to save full palettes of colors.

Posted in the ColorPic Forum.

Help in naming colors

I am not a web designer, but mainly use ColorPic to analyze pictures to determine exactly what colors are being used in paintings and so forth.   

A big issue for me is figuring out if the color I'm looking at has some kind of conventional name, or is a variant of a color with a conventional name.     Sometimes I'll say a color is something like "whitish-greyish orange-ish yellow", which is awkward.   

I wish ColorPic could show you the nearest conventionally named colors to the one you've picked.     In other words, I'm a bit surprised that if you select something Navy Blue in ColorPic, the term "Navy Blue" doesn't appear on the interface.

My current process is to get the color number using ColorPic, then paste it into encycolorpedia.com, which has a section called "Related Named Color".     This is helpful -- I can see if the color I've chosen is similar to a named color.     But often the color names used are so obscure as to be useless.     Examples: "NVIDIA", "ASDA", "eBay" are color names.    

I'd like to name a color in a meaningful way, rather than say, "It's a dark shade of eBay green."   

I wonder if ColorPic could also show named related colors, but use only conventional color names, such as those found on crayons.

However, even if Color pick could just imitate the "Related Named Color" section of encycolorpedia, it would be helpful.

Thanks,
Kurt B.

by Kurt Baumgarten on Mar 7 2014 8:51pm Reply

Help in naming colors

I've noticed there's been no reply so far.    I did note that if your selected color is a websafe color, the name will appear.    But if it is even slightly different than a websafe color, no name appears.

The feature I'm suggesting is to display the *nearest* named color, or colors.